The New Facebook Business Page Experience: What Does It Mean for Me?


You may have noticed a few changes to your Facebook Business Page recently. That’s because Facebook just rolled out their “New Page Experience,” meaning a whole new page system to get used to!


If these changes seem intimidating, know that you’re not alone. Luckily, the user controls are the biggest change Facebook has made in regards to your Business Page!


Below, we’ll highlight what exactly Facebook’s New Page Experience entails and what these changes mean for you as a business owner.


What Changes Has Facebook Made to Business Pages?

Facebook’s New Page Experience is intended to make it easier for small businesses to grow and interact with their online audience. But, as with any new software, it definitely comes with a learning curve!


The biggest change Facebook has made is how you interact with your Business Page. Instead of posting and responding to messages from your personal Facebook account, the same one you use to talk to friends and family members, you can now switch to your Business account right from your Facebook home screen!


To some, this may seem like an unnecessary extra step. But, things can get messy quickly when you have to manage your Business Page from your personal account. Now, you don’t have to worry about keeping your personal life separate from your professional life online — Facebook does it all for you!


The new Business Page features a much cleaner layout and more user-friendly controls, including new ways to give other users access to your page’s management tools. Most of your page’s content will switch over to your new page automatically, meaning there’s very little action you need to take to maintain your company’s online presence.


Where Do I Go From Here?

After switching to the New Page Experience, you may feel overwhelmed and confused — but don’t panic! There are really only a few areas you need to pay special attention to. These include:


● Switching between your personal profile and business page

● Giving other people access to your management tools

● Scheduling and publishing new content

● Editing your business information


Let’s highlight the actions you’ll need to take in these four areas.


Switching Between Your Personal Profile and Business Page

Using the same account you use to keep in touch with friends from college to manage your small business can feel strange, even overly personal at times. But, the New Page Experience takes all these problems away!


Instead of connecting your page to your personal Facebook account, the New Page Experience essentially gives you a “business profile” within your main account.


Switching between your main account and Business Page is easy. All you have to do is click on your profile picture in the right-hand corner of the Facebook homepage, then press “See All Profiles.”



Next, click on your Business Page’s name. You’ll see a blank loading screen with the Facebook logo and the caption “Switching Profiles…” before the page refreshes.


Now, click the profile picture in the top-right corner again. Press the box at the top with your Business Page’s name to go to your page, or click the small icon with your personal profile picture to quickly switch back to your personal Facebook profile.





Giving Other People Access to Management Tools

In Facebook’s New Page Experience, traditional page roles, like editors and moderators, are no longer available. Instead, you will need to use your new page’s controls to give your page administrators one of two types of access: Facebook access or task access.


Now, let’s discuss the difference between these two types of access.


Facebook Access

There are two types of Facebook access you can grant page administrators — full access and partial access.


People you give full Facebook access to will have the same type of access that you as the business owner have. They will be able to:


● Create, manage, or delete content

● Send and receive messages

● Reply to comments

● Add or remove linked accounts and groups

● Create and manage advertisements

● Analyze page insights

● Remove or ban people from the page


If you give a user only partial access, they will only be able to control the page aspects you allow them to.


Task Access

While people with Facebook access have more complete control of your page, depending on whether you give them full or partial access, those with task access will only be able to use your page’s management tools.


They won’t be able to switch from their profile to your Business Page profile, but they can use Creator Studio, Meta Business Suite, and Business Manager to schedule content.


Some of the other things those with task access may be able to do include:


● Create and manage posts

● Send and receive messages

● View your page’s insights


Instead of switching between pages to work within the Business Page, people with task access can simply visit your business page and select “Manage.”


How to Give Others Access to Your Business Page

You can add or remove a user’s Facebook or task access through your Page’s settings. Here’s how to do it:


1. Go to your Business Page and press “Manage” to open your Professional Dashboard.




2. On the right side of the screen, choose “Page Access.”





3. Here, you’ll be able to see all the accounts that currently have Facebook or task access on your page. To give someone else access, press “Add New” next to the corresponding section.





4. A pop-up will appear letting you know what giving each type of access entails. Read over this, then press “Next” to continue.



5. Type in the name of the person you want to give access to, then click on their profile. A new window will open explaining what giving this person access means. When you’re ready, press “Give Access.”





If you ever want to edit or revoke a person’s access to your page, click on the three dots to the right of their name. Then, press “Change Access Level” or “Remove Access” accordingly.





Scheduling and Publishing New Content

On your old page, you had the option to schedule a post to go live at a later time or date right from the, “What’s on your mind?” prompt. But in the New Page Experience, this option is gone.


Where there used to be a small calendar icon at the bottom of the post creation screen, you’ll now only see the option to “Post.” There’s also a text box right above this button letting you know you will need to use Meta Business Suite to schedule future posts.





In addition to Meta Business Suite, you can also use Creator Studio to schedule future posts. You just will not be able to do it directly on your Business Page.


Editing Your Business Information

As you look through your new Business Page, you may notice that some features did not transfer over from the old page. Some of your Stories may disappear, along with your business contact information and your page’s bio.


While your messages and ads will still appear, they’ll likely be in different places than where you remember them. But, don’t worry — all it takes is a little bit of editing to make it look as good as it used to!


Getting Used to the New Page Experience

You rely on your Facebook Business Page to help run your business and increase your audience. So, it can be frustrating and confusing when Facebook makes all these changes at once!


The best course of action here is to read up on all the new aspects included in the New Page Experience and spend time exploring the different features. Soon enough, you’ll be back to running your online business with the touch of a button!

45 views0 comments